Hole-In-One Insurer Not Responsible For Aces Made On Too-Short Hole

By: Rob Harris

The Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals has held that hole-in-one insurers are not obligated to pay with respect to aces made by Justin Thomas and George McNeil at the Greenbrier Classic in 2015.

For the court, the issue was simple: “The application for the insurance policy stated that the hole in question had to be a minimum of 150 yards from the tee. The policy specified a minimum yardage of 170 yards for the hole in question.”

However, the tees were set up at a mere 137 yards from the hole.

Game, set and match…. insurance company wins.

Golf Dispute Resolution’s earlier coverage of the dispute can be found here.

Please follow and like us:

2 thoughts on “Hole-In-One Insurer Not Responsible For Aces Made On Too-Short Hole”

  1. I read this quickly, but did the agent communicate to the Tournament the restrictions – if not, then might not there be a cause of action against the agent for not communicating the restrictions to the Tournament?

  2. Great observation. The opinion notes that:
    “The final policies and policy binder received by Bankers Insurance,
    Old White’s [Greenbrier’s] agent, unambiguously state that the designated hole had to be at least 170 yards from the tee, and Bankers bound coverage by submitting payment on behalf of Old White days after receiving the binder…While Old White complains that it never received the binder or email exchange, it was solely Banker’s responsibility to relay information to Old White.”
    This suggests that the viable claims would be by Old White against its agent.

Leave a Reply